After Christmas · friends · humor · Life · New Year

Whew, It’s Over!

Christmas has come and gone, and I avoided bodily harm.

No broken arm reaching for a discounted shirt that someone else thought would be perfect on their ½ brother’s cousin’s skinny body, and no blows to the head trying to get the last bag of cranberries. Whew. What a relief it is.

Now all I have to do is survive the New Year celebrations. This should be much easier since the major excitement around my house is keeping the doglets calm when fireworks erupt periodically. Watching the giant ball drop from the sky in Times Square on TV is mundane after we survived Christmas in the Big Apple. What a trip!

Unless I’m living in an altered state brought on by too much culinary diversity, I think I’m alive and well, ready to face another year of unknown but nonetheless interesting events.

If I’m lucky, I’ll celebrate another birthday, share quiet dinners with friends, laugh at good jokes, make fun of everyday happenings, contribute to my community, offer praise for good health, and do no harm to those around me. Those goals don’t appear too lofty, even for me. After all, I certainly don’t want to set the standards so high that I will have to stress out trying to accomplish them.

Seems to me retirement should be about easy living, doing what you want to do, when you want to, not making life more complicated than it needs to be.

Of course, there are those who would think that is an unproductive and lazy way to live. Yes, so…?

I wish you a peaceful, simple, loving, uncomplicated, and enjoyable new year filled with unproductive and lazy hours that will drive your overzealous friends nuts!!!

8 thoughts on “Whew, It’s Over!

Leave a Reply

