aging · Boomers · humor · Mirrors · People · Re-blogs

The Art of Aging

This is a marvelous and timely post from Life in the Boomer Lane. I’ve been looking in the mirror lately and wondering who is this person looking back at me? Some days I don’t know her. Sadly, I think I should wear more makeup, do something about my sagging arms, get airbrushed. Then reality sets in and I am acutely aware that I have earned this body, this face, this hair, and it is I. In living color. Enjoy this insightful reblog.

Life in the Boomer Lane

o-WOMAN-LOOKING-IN-MIRROR-MATURE-facebook

Life in the Boomer Lane, distracted by the political mayhem being perpetrated as we get closer to the 2016 election, has neglected her #1 goal in starting this blog: writing in an authentic, powerful, hilarious way about the aging process and the role of boomers in that process.  For those readers who haven’t fallen asleep during the previous overly-long sentence, LBL has some good news for you.  An alert reader sent LBL an article from the January 2016 edition of Real Simple magazine, titled “The Art of Aging.”

The daughter of writer Julianna Baggott decided to create a piece on the deterioration of the body for her art school sculpture class. She needed a model.  She asked her mom to send her photos of her breasts.  Baggott’s first response was a predictable “No.” Her second was to have her husband photograph her breasts and send the photos to her daughter.

View original post 483 more words

4 thoughts on “The Art of Aging

  1. I love this post, I love what you say about ” I have earned this body, this face, this hair, and it is I. In living color.” and what she says about the years being only as kind to us as we are to ourselves…thanks for posting this

    Like

Leave a Reply

