humor

Who Are You?

I’m in a dilemma.

I’ve been asked not only why I write, but exactly to whom I am writing.

And once more I haven’t the foggiest idea. Actually, my idea is clooked in fogginess. It reminds me of driving a car along a foggy road, not being able to see what is beside me, behind me, or ahead of me. I keep driving hoping for a break in the mist that will add some clarity to the journey.

My first response to the question is, ‘anyone who will read my stuff’ is my audience. A copout, to say the least. Because all bloggers and/or writers want to be noticed, read, followed, talked about, admired. Let’s face it, being worshiped would be nice.

As has been pointed out to me, blogging is forming friendships: it takes interest in others, being available, listening, responding, time. It takes Work!

Oh no, not work!! I have to work at this? Writing isn’t work to me. It flows and seems natural. I don’t feel pressure or discomfort. I look forward to getting words on a piece of paper or on the computer screen.

What is work is the process to ‘spread the word’, to figure out who will want to read my posts, to form friendships with faceless readers, to engage with these strangers via social media. Whatever happened to sitting down at the kitchen table and sharing thoughts with your neighbor over a cup of coffee? Not that I ever did that. I don’t like coffee, but you get the point.

Those days have been replaced with a computer and a phone that allow folks to communicate incognito.

If Alexander Graham Bell had known that this contraption he invented would eventually do away with the kitchen table, he just might have passed on the idea. But who would have thought the telephone would lead the way to anonymity?

Here we are, seeking an audience for what we create, hoping that someone is interested enough to spend time perusing my thoughts and ramblings. So,to whomever is reading this, I say thank you. I know you have other blogs to read, other people to be interested in, other pursuits that would be more beneficial. But instead you are here, visiting with me. I’m delighted to have you here, even if I don’t know you.

Rest easy, I don’t require worship. A bit of a smile will do just fine.

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Who Are You?

  1. Here’s a big smile from me to you. I GET what you are saying. However, I don’t think “anyone who will read my stuff” is a copout. You are writing first for yourself. Your words are your thoughts–and the rest shall follow. Trust me. As a fellow blogger, AND someone who absolutely craves attention, there are times when I wish I had a gazillion readers/friends/followers/–but then I take a step back and remember why I started writing. I started as a way to put my musings, thoughts and whatever else pops to mind to paper..or computer. I love you blog–here’s a pocketful of smiles!

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Insights From The Edge and commented:
    What I love about this is how the writer articulates exactly what most writers and bloggers feel in a pretty confident way. We’re all on this journey and no one knows if it will be fruitful or if it will end prematurely, or even what any of it is supposed to look like. We’re helping one another define it…

    Like

  3. hello Little Voice, from my corner on the web, to yours;) I did enjoy your post here;, and I agree yea, we all want attention, and more likes, and followers; but God gives us; what we can handle;)) and Nice to meet you; Deb

    Like

  4. You can write to me. I like your little voice coming out of the cacophony. I’m a real person. That is my name. That is my picture, not a dog, cat, or cartoon. I have plenty of real friends with whom I spend face to face time. But, the blogosphere lets me reach out and think thoughts I would not have had, see places I’ll probably never get to see, talk to people (like you!) I would not have met otherwise.

    I don’t need thousands of followers; I don’t have time to read that many posts. However, it is nice to share some little daily experience and have voices from afar say, “I like that” or respond with some thought that further enriches my experience.

    I do like to share the things in my life that I see, learn, and do. It is natural to want to share something you like. “Taste this soup!” “Look at that view.” “See my exceptional grandsons!” “I had the strangest dream last night.” “My vacation was amazing!” “Look at that sunset!” Putting that on a blog magnifies the joy of sharing, with more real people.

    That’s how I see it anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

