birthdays · memories

Happy Birthday, JV

Jack johnsonJack V. Johnson, 1936-2004

Today, February 3, I am celebrating what would be your 80th birthday.

There is no cake, no ice cream, no games, no confetti, no family gathering. I’m celebrating with memories: memories of the laughter you inspired, boundaries you protected, kindness you shared.

I’m remembering your disdain for orders given.  “You give orders better than I take them,” you once told someone.

I’m remembering the personal parameters that you guarded with fierceness and clarity.

I’m remembering the quirky way you looked at uncomfortable situations, reducing them to bearable encounters with a twist of humor.

I’m remembering your love for Trap, your black lab that showed the same gentle firmness that he learned from you.

I’m remembering your quickness in recognizing injustices.

And I remember Dr. Pepto dr peptowho looked over your doctors’ shoulders from his place above your hospital bed, guarding you with his wide-eyed and never blinking alertness.

Memories about you come easily. All I have to do is talk with your children and I am reminded of your sense of humor. Your wit is embedded deep into them.

I watch Chili bring me my house shoes, and I’m reminded how you taught her to drag your boots down the hallway and return with slippers as you waited for a new lung.

Oh yes, Jackson, you would want us to ignore your birthday. But those of us who love you can not ignore the impact you had on our lives.

Thank you for agreeing to share yourself with us. And Happy Birthday, you old cowboy.

http://haddonmusings.com/2016/02/03/senior-salon-9/jack

 

 

26 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, JV

  1. What a beautiful and fitting tribute to Dad … even though it brought tears! Thanks for the memories. JV’s impact on lives will always deserve celebration!

    Like

  2. That¹s beautiful, Margo. I¹m thinking of Jack today too. Old cowboys never die.

    From: that little voice Reply-To: that little voice Date: Wednesday, February 3, 2016 at 10:46 AM To: Paula James Subject: [New post] Happy Birthday, JV

    WordPress.com Little Voice posted: “Jack V. Johnson, 1936-2004 Today, February 3, I am celebrating what would be your 80th birthday. There is no cake, no ice cream, no games, no confetti, no family gathering. I’m celebrating with memories: memories of the laughter you inspired, boundari”

    Like

  3. Margo, thinking of you & saying a prayer for you – especially today. Hugs and God bless you. 🌹🌹

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

