Fires · reblog · wood stove · Word of Substance

The Wood Stove

From A Word of Substance is a wonderful take on fire…the good and the dangerous.

https://awordofsubstance.wordpress.com/2016/08/08/the-wood-stove/

A Word Of Substance

woodstove.jpg_large

I once had a fire in me that could not be contained. I knew no boundaries. I knew no limits. I knew only of energy that burned.

There were no rules. I could go anywhere. Through the mountains. Into the forest. Past the villages and under the leaves. I could spark interest in anything.

People talked and my flames became more vibrant from conversation. “Did you see the scarlet colors?” “Did you feel the warm glow?” I was a thing of dangerous beauty that I thought could only beam brighter.

But then one day I burned the earth. I wasn’t paying attention. I turned to radiate my astonishing brilliance, but the grass had already died. I fled to the trees to show them my passion, but they had already bent over backwards in ruins with dissatisfaction. I turned to the towns, to the cities, to the houses of my comfort…

View original post 100 more words

4 thoughts on “The Wood Stove

Leave a Reply

