kathy stucker · poem · Poetry · share · Story

Stucker Strikes Again!

Kathryn Stucker graces us with another of her poems. Glad to share her writings.

I’d Like to Read a Story

 

I’d like to read a story that has

Characters I can admire,

A story with a message,

A plot with twists and turns,

An ending I can’t predict.

 

I’d like to read a story in which

The hero has many dimensions,

The heroine is not a stereotype,

The villain has redeeming qualities,

And I can care about them all.

 

I’d like to read a story that will

Challenge my intellect,

Give me things to think about,

Change my outlook on at least one issue,

And dig deep into my soul.

 

I’d like to read a story that

I don’t quit in disgust in chapter one,

Or worse yet, after more wasted time,

But takes more than a day to finish,

And requires some time to absorb.

 

I’d like to read a story with

Layers of meaning,

But is clear in its concept,

With references to things I can imagine,

Even if I haven’t seen or lived them.

 

I’d like to read a book that

I will keep on my shelf,

Planning to read again,

To glean more from its pages,

Even if I never do.

 

 

Kathryn Moore Stucker – 2003

10 thoughts on “Stucker Strikes Again!

  1. Yes!

    From: that little voice Reply-To: that little voice Date: Tuesday, October 18, 2016 at 8:28 AM To: Paula James Subject: [New post] Stucker Strikes Again!

    WordPress.com that little voice posted: “Kathryn Stucker graces us with another of her poems. Glad to share her writings. I¹d Like to Read a Story I¹d like to read a story that has Characters I can admire, A story with a message, A plot with twists and turns, An ending I c”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

