Frettin' · humor · kathy stucker · Poetry · Settin'

Another Stucker Favorite

I’m A-settin’ and A-frettin’

I’m a settin’ and a-frettin’ ‘neath the old oak tree,

Wonderin’ what has happened to me.

 I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ in the rocking chair.

What the heck happened to my fair hair?

I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ on the wide front porch.

How did I get such a big front paunch?

 I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ b’side yonder crick.

Somebody paid me a dirty trick!

 I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ in the truck garden,

Hopin’ the weeds will beg my pardon.

 I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ by the firewood pile,

Puttin’ off that dern chore fer awhile.

I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ in Mama’s kitchen.

Dinner’s late and my Papa’s bitchin’.

I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ in Grandpa’s old barn.

Pigs is loose and I don’t give a darn.

I’m a-settin and a-frettin’ here all by my self

‘Cause my ol’ beau left me on the shelf.

I’m a-setting and a-frettin’ in weather so hot

I’m jest as sure to melt now as not.

I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ most ev’ry long day

But I’m happy here ‘spite what I say.

I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ ‘bout the whole big earth

As us folks jus’ plain forget its worth.

I’m a-settin’ and a-frettin’ ’bout my worthless soul,

Hopin’ to reach my heavenly goal.

 

Kathryn Moore Stucker – 2014

 

 

7 thoughts on “Another Stucker Favorite

Leave a Reply

