family · Guest Blog · kathy stucker · poem · Poetry

Photographs on the Wall–Guest Blog

Kathryn Stucker has graced us with one of her poems for this holiday season. As she wrote when she sent it: “Since this is the season for thinking about family, here is a poem about family – ancestors and children.”

 

Photographs on the Wall

 

Family photographs on the wall

Tie me to reality, prove that I exist.

They bring me to a stop as eyes meet.

I covered the wall with frames, faces,

Family photographs on the wall.

 

Without photographs on the wall

I have no roots, no perspective.

So many things are just things –

Transitory, replaceable, disposable.

But not the photographs on the wall.

 

With those photographs on the wall,

I can wish we had met at least once

Or revisit my favorite memories.

Those faces are real, not ghosts,

In those photographs on the wall.

 

Without photographs on the wall,

Distant ancestors are just names,

My childhood is all in the past,

My children grew up too fast.

But not the photographs on the wall.

 

With those photographs on the wall,

I can smile a sweet secret hello

Every time I walk past and pause

To feel the deep warmth of love

In those photographs on the wall.

 

Kathryn Moore Stucker – 2015

3 thoughts on “Photographs on the Wall–Guest Blog

Leave a Reply

