conference workshops · Mexico · San Miguel de Allende · Writers' conferenvce · writing

Mexico Bound

I’m heading back to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico for the 12 annual Writer’s Conference to be held Feb. 15-19.

http://www.sanmiguelwritersconference.org/

Lots of good speakers are on the program agenda, along with workshops, private tutoring, conference sessions, and tons of talking one-on-one with other attendees.

I’m looking forward to this exchange and learning experience even though I haven’t a clue why I signed up for it. There will be a workshops on lots of writing topics, fiction, fantasy, non-fiction, etc. But I’m not certain there is going to be much emphasis on blogging. And blogging is what I am interested in.

I’m not an aspiring fiction writer. In fact, my limited creative abilities do not include making up stories. Lies I can do. Stories, not so much. Or are they the same thing?

And, I’m hoping there will be something for photo-journalists. Not that I’m that either, but it is something I’m interested in. I would comfortably say that I would not be placed in the ‘photography’ genre, since the only camera I carry around is my iPhone 5. I have a Canon Rebel, digital, but it is cumbersome so I choose not to haul it around. How spoiled I have become in my ‘later’ years.

I may change my mind when my step-daughter and I spend 10 days in Ireland later this spring. But to take pictures of doors and door-knockers while in Mexico, the iPhone will do. At least it has been okay thus far.

It’s strange what propels me to take certain trips. On a whim I traveled to China 10 years ago, and to Kenya and London 3 years ago. I was on a tour for the China and Kenya excursions, but was on my own in London. Which do I prefer? I guess I want a little structure, but I really want lots of flexibility.

I have friends who, when traveling, make multiple reservations for each night because they aren’t certain where they will end up and they want to be prepared.

Me? I’ll find somewhere to lay my head, and I’m really motivated when I want to eat. I can always find food. But I do understand how this serendipitous style may be anxious building for some.

On my upcoming trip to San Miguel, I will stay with my sis, who has been there for the past 4 months, and I know where the writers’ conference will be held, so I’m pretty comfortable with this plan.

So, I’m off and will send updates as I listen, exchange, and walk the streets of this lovely city.

11 thoughts on “Mexico Bound

  1. SOON!!

    From: that little voice Reply-To: that little voice Date: Monday, February 13, 2017 at 7:39 AM To: Paula James Subject: [New post] Mexico Bound

    WordPress.com that little voice posted: “I’m heading back to San Miguel de Allende, Mexico for the 12 annual Writer’s Conference to be held Feb. 15-19. http://www.sanmiguelwritersconference.org/ Lots of good speakers are on the program agenda, along with workshops, private tutoring, confer”

    Like

Leave a Reply

