buildings · Faces · Images · Impressions · Ireland · old · Pictures · Rocks · structures · Uncategorized

Rock Fantasies

I’m back from my trip to sunny Ireland.

Sunny, you say?

Yep, 7 full days of sunshine on the Emerald Island. Even the natives were shocked.

Since I’m not a travel writer, I won’t provide details about our travels. Rather, I’ll share some highlights, some pictures, some surprises, some interesting facts, some experiences, but none of the beer.

Being an amateur photographer, I took a zillion photos…thank goodness for digital cameras! Developing film would have cost more than the plane ticket.

I have pictures of gardens, old buildings, sea shores, cliffs, old buildings, sheep, stone fences, old buildings, flowers, colored doors, and did I mention old buildings? For blogging purposes, I’ll break up my trip in various posts with a different focus. Hopefully that will make my travels less boring to you readers, and will help me relive the adventures we had.

Let’s talk old buildings today.

We Americans think of ‘old’ as being maybe 200 years old. The Irish don’t put things on their ‘old’ list unless it has a history of at least 500+ years. Why bother showing off the young when you have access to your great-great-great-great-great grandparents’ home place?

I kept finding faces, creatures, people, and objects in my pictures of old building. And often in the rubble of long ago structures I found grace, destruction, dignity, and many stories untold. If only those rocks could talk!

So, here are a few of my favorites. I wonder if you see the same things I do when viewing the remains of silent edifices.

Ireland, old buildings, faces, beauty, history, edifices, structures, rocks

Is this the face of the original owner, showing his forked tongue, and his third eye? This one has heavy eyebrows and cat-like green eyes watching to see who ventures forth.

 

Ireland, old buildings, faces, beauty, history, edifices, structures, rocks, old Abe,

I call this one Old Abe. For some reason this reminds me of Abraham Lincoln scratching his head in bewilderment.

reland, old buildings, faces, beauty, history, edifices, structures, rocks, old Abe,

Another face with a blind eye and a stitched scar leading the viewer’s eye away from the open mouth.

reland, old buildings, faces, beauty, history, edifices,  structures, rocks,  old Abe,

An angel resting in the shade

reland, old buildings, faces, beauty, history, edifices,  structures, rocks,  old Abe,

Bright blue eyes watching warily.

reland, old buildings, faces, beauty, history, edifices,  structures, rocks,  old Abe,

And I see faces: in the larger rock a cat face appears and even a cowed dog. In the top right rock I see a baby face, and below a pig face.

What do you mean you don’t see what I see? Tell me if you see anything in the rock facades. I would love to hear from you.

(Oh, and I will skip telling you about wrecking my car on the way to the airport to leave nor the food poisoning I experienced on the way home. Those are stories for another post!)

3 thoughts on “Rock Fantasies

  1. Oh, Margo. I received only the name of the pictures, but no pictures. I was eager to see if you photgraphed the same old buildings that I did when tere a few years ago. I do enjoy your blog and photos. Doris

    Like

    1. Let me see what the problem is. Thanks for reading my blog. I’m having a great time doing it. Hopefully we saw some of the same places. Would love to spend some time with you catching up and sharing stories about our life’s journeys.

      Like

    2. Doris, I think a Leprechaun must have imbedded itself into my camera. Sometimes the pictures show and sometimes they don’t. Hummmmmm. You may have to do a bit of Irish drinking to make them appear!

      Like

Leave a Reply

